Hair Today…

…and gone tomorrow.

I’m not afraid of monsters or spooky things in my dreams. I actually find them kind of fun; even when I’m not lucid dreaming, I somehow know that these things can’t harm me because they are not real. No, my nightmares come from reality: flooding, tornadoes, disease, war, tsunamis…these are the things that I end up waking from in a cold sweat.

My most common “scary dream” is having my teeth fall out, which I have discovered relates to fears about aging and gaining more responsibility, and considering that the past 5-6 years have been filled with going out into the world and living on my own, this isn’t surprising.

Recently, I have been having a scarier set of dreams, and unlike the teeth, this one isn’t shrouded in metaphors, this one reflects reality. I have horrible dreams of my hair falling out.

In reality, I have been losing hair at an unusual rate. I have a lot of thick curly hair, and I am used to shedding, but the amount I have been losing I far more than I am used to. It could be the diet change and sudden increase of exercise that I started this summer, it could be stress, I could be lacking a vitamin or mineral, or I could have issues with my thyroid (I should find out the blood test results soon) but whatever the case is, my hair has been thinning out within the last couple of months, and I does’t seem to be getting any better. In fact, I think it’s only increasing.

I just had another nightmare last night about huge clumps of hair coming out in my hands, which doesn’t remotely help with the stress of the situation. It REALLY didn’t help when I took a shower this morning to find an alarming amount of hair strands collecting in the drain and coming out in my hands as I condition my hair. I’m surprised I’m not bald yet.

Again, my nightmares are not the supernatural, they’re grounded in reality.

Dream Score: 1/10. Scary. I don’t want to go bald.

Leave a Reply

