Think-Back Tuesday (aka Thursday): Mggi

Not really any interesting dream worth mentioning in the past two days, so I thought I would reflect on one I had last fall.

The dream started off in a wooded area that lead to a clearing. The clearing was inhabited by ruins of old buildings that had long crumbled into wood and stone piles covered with vines and grass. There was one old building that had not succumb to time. The structure was old and rundown, an old shack that stood proudly as a lone survivor, despite being made entirely made wood and being presumably hundreds of years old. The roof slanted close to the ground on one side, giving in lean-to like quality. This place has no windows, and only a single door leading in.

I was a young girl that was part of a large group of kids that were making our way into the clearing. There was such a serious tone to the group. We all dutifully made our way to the standing structure. We all crowded around the single door. Kids pulled out pencils, markers, and paint brushes and approached the door one at a time. Each kid wrote a number on the door (some were only single digits, while other were upwards of eight.) Each time someone wrote done a number, it would disappear, being absorbed by the wooden door. These kids looked disappointed and sauntered away from the building. Then, it was my turn.

I did not have any writing utensil, nor did I know what number to write down. After staring at the door like a moron, I decided to trace a random number on the door. Unlike the other kids, I picked a decimal number (I think it was 4.34.) Instead of being absorbed, the numbers glowed and the door swung open. The kids cheered and congratulated me for opening the door.

Before going inside, every child pulled out a personal item, some held up hair ties and bracelets, others took off their shoes and held them up. I pulled out a scrunchie and held it above me.

“I wish everyone good luck for the week!” I said. Every item that was held up glowed lightly after I spoke, becoming charms of good fortune. With those words, I suddenly knew that I had three wishes left and that I had exactly one week to use them until the door closed and locked us out again.

With excitement, I rushed into the small structure. The inside of the lean-to was filled with comfy chairs and beanbags, the wall of the small structure were lined with bookshelves, and the room magically had formed a bay window where one could sit and read. The building had become a slice of my own personal heaven. Some on the kids smiled, others grumbled about my fantasy room being boring, but they were still pretty good natured about it.

I chose to sit at the bay window and read a book. Other kids reads books, while some played card games. A girl with chestnut pigtails asked me what my next wish would be. I looked up from my book and thought about it. I could ask for nearly anything. (There seemed to be this unspoken taboo that things like riches, fame, or bringing people back from the dead were things this place either could not, or would not grant.) I wanted knowledge, to peek into the unknown. Curious, I said quietly: “ I want to know if there are alternate dimensions,” (In reality, this would be one of the question I would ask if I knew it could be answered.) The room went silent, but nothing happened. I frowned, thinking that I had asked for too much.

“Look,” squealed pigtail girl. She pointed to the space next to me, which now held a bag of small popcorn. I remember feeling disappointed, I was afraid that the room was mad at me and had instead given me a bag of popcorn — something I actually dislike.

“Well, aren’t you going to eat it?” the girl asked. “It probably gave you the popcorn for a reason. It would be a bad idea not to take it,” I nodded and reluctantly took a handful of the popcorn and shoveled it into my mouth.

I’m shooting through purple light, a tube of stars and sparkles and holes of various other colors. As I passed through this tube, I would slow down at points and could see inside of these holes. Each hole was an opening to another world. Some looked similar to earth, others had strange lands of red skies and blue grass, one even had a species of giant birds that stalked around like dinosaurs. I was viewing a small selection of alternate worlds.

Next thing I know, I’m back in the lean-to, laying on the floor in a shaking heap. The other children surrounded me, looking both concerned and excited.

“Where did you go?” a boy asked. I was unable to answer — my mouth literally would not open every time I tried to explain what I had seen. I just smiled up at him instead. The bag of popcorn had disappeared.

The dream jumps scenes again. It was later in the week and the I was alone in the building. I was weighed down by sadness — one of the kids had died despite having a good luck charm. I was hurt and angry. I yelled at the empty building, demanding that my last wish be to bring the boy back. The building roared in disagreement — it was like standing in a raging storm with none of the wind — it was loud, deafening. This did not scare me; it actually made me furious.

“Then what good are you?! You’re power is useless! What. Even. Are. You?” I yelled.

Suddenly a figured appeared in front of me. I cannot tell you their height, hair color, or facial features, they were like a blank slate. I cannot remember a single distinguishing feature aside from their deep voice.

“I’m am Mggi,” the deep voice said faintly, but from all directions. “I have always existed and always will exist. I have power, but I am no god. I cannot do it all.”

“But you have to bring him back,” I cried. “Everyone thinks it’s my fault, that I didn’t actually give them luck.”

“That power couldn’t stop what was meant to happen; it could only influence the luck of his death,” Mggi said quietly. “He was asleep when that drunk driver his family’s van; he felt nothing.”

“Can’t you do anything to change it?” I begged.

“I…can,” it said hesitantly. “You know full well that I don’t grant those kind of wishes. Those take a lot of power, power I do not usually have.”

I was crying like..like well, a child would. I was so distraught that this had happened while I was in charge of the room.

“…What would you do to bring him back?”

“Anything,” I sobbed.

“I can…change all of this, but I need you to do me a favor. I cannot just grant your wish with no sacrifice on your part. Otherwise, all of you children would be asking for ridiculous things. “

I suddenly sank into the floor of the lean-to, landing in a room much similar to the one I had just been in, only it was far larger, much more like a home. There was even a bay window like the first one, only outside was a mass of shifting purple swirls — a cloud of colorful nothing. There was no door leading out.

“It has been done,” the Mggi appeared in the room. “But I used the energy from your physical being to do it. You, like me, are a now a non-physical entity.”

The Mggi seemed sympathetic of my (essentially) lost life.

“Don’t be too upset,” it cooed softly. “I can show and teach you things you would have never been able to experience in a human life; won’t that be nice?”

I looked up at the featureless figure and smiled. The end.

 

Dream Score: 9/10. Weeeeirrd. But it struck me hard enough to start writing a short story based off of it so… awesome!

Leave a Reply

