Think-Back Tuesday: Luna Gone

This dream took place my junior year of college, and it was so story-like and full of intense emotion that I actually found myself truly sad, heartbroken, and in love when I woke up. (No when I say story-like, I mean it has a beginning, middle, and end…but it is still a dream, so things flow more surreal than a written fictional piece. I was so moved by this dream that I jotted it down is a mess of bullet points and chunky paragraphs with broken sentences. I then relayed this story to my close friend, which he told me was worth writing into an actual story. I agreed, but have never followed through, and I may never do so as it contents are very surreal at times and would be hard to flow together coherently. So, this will just be a more organized version of my notes that I wrote that morning over three years ago.

I was a girl on a farm with my little sister. This farm was in a very futuristic setting; the grass and fence were modern, but the surrounding fields were surrounded by a large bubble that encased the entire farm, keeping the polluted air out of the growing ecosystem. It was night, but the dome was lit by artificial lights. The sky was pitch black, not a single light could be seen in the sky.

The little girl and I were watching the cows on our farm. The girl was quite small and only spoke in babbles at this point as she toddled around the fence.

“What do the cows say, sweetie?” I asked her as she stared at the bovine in front of her.

“Moo, Nani,” she answered me directly. “Mooo. Moo, Na–”

Then I blacked out.

I woke up in my bedroom, the door was locked and I could hear someone crying outside of my door.

I tried to open the door, but failed and began beating on the wood.

“What’s going on?!” I shouted to my family.

“You killed her!” my mother screamed through her sobs. “You killed my baby girl!”

I suddenly knew what I had done. I knew I went into an angry rage while observing the cows on the farm, and that I killed my sister. But I couldn’t actually remember doing it. I just knew that I did.  I was in a state of shock; how and why did I kill my baby sister? I became a mess of emotions when I repercussions of what I had done sunk in. I cried in my bedroom. Why? Why? WHY?!

“I’ve contacted the Authorities,” I heard my father say from the hall. “They’ll take care of her.”

My heartbreak was replaced with fear. The Authorities gave eye-for-an-eye punishments. If you stole, something of value was taken from you, if you damaged something, something of yours was damaged, if you killed…

I hated myself for what I had somehow managed to do, but I didn’t want to die. Over the sounds of sobbing and angry words, I began planning my escape. My eyes drifted to the large vent above my desk. I knew it lead outside the house and was just big enough to crawl through. 

The world outside of our dome was dark, dank, and was less than easy to breathe in. The air out here was toxic, but I had heard rumor of cities of people living outside of domes, and managing to survive.

There was no grass, no trees, just sand, dirt, and rocks along the mountain range. I walked in a panic; I knew that I had to find shelter from the sun that would soon rise. Without a dome or other forms of shelter, the sun’s rays could kill. Just as I was resigned to my own potential death, I could see the outline of a city as the first colors of sun began to rise. I ran at full speed to this city. As I approached it, I realized that it was completely abandoned. The skyscrapers were partially crumbled from the lack of maintenance while smaller buildings had dissolved to bricks and dust.  Just as the sun began to rise, I found a building that wasn’t completely destroyed by the force of time. I watched the sunrise from my haven. The world became hot, exhaustingly hot, but still manageable as I hid in the darkest corner of the building. I waited out the day, sweating and desperate for food and water.

Finally, the sun set and the world cooled down again. I emerged from my hiding place and entered the twilight world around me. I explored the streets of the abandoned city. This time, however, it was not silent. I could hear footsteps and far off voices, but I didn’t see anyone. I called out, but no one answered.

I came across an abandoned house that looked pretty stable, so I struggled to climb over the fence that surrounded it. Out of nowhere a man appeared from behind the dilapidated shed in the yard. He was old, frail, and bald with a clean-shaven face. His skin was an ashy gray and he was slightly hunched, making his short height look even smaller.

“Who are you, and what are you doing here?” he growled.

“Looking for water.”

“Well, you won’t find it in this junk heap,” he said.

We stared at each other in silence for several seconds.

“Well, were you banished, or did you run away from the domes?” he asked.

“What does it matter to you?” I spat.

He scowled and began walking away. I was unsure what to do next.

“Are you coming or not?

Confused, but grateful, I followed him out of the yard and back towards the mountains. As we left the city, people with the same greyish skin came out of hiding. They stared at me with fear at my pale-pink skin and tall stature. The old man seemed to be well respected to this strange community, because none of them questioned him when he stated that I would be treated as a guest.

As we approached the largest of the mountains, I see that there is a cave opening that lead to where these people seemed to be living. It gets darker outside as we approach it, and for the first time in my life, I see tiny pinpricks of light in the dark sky. I stopped in my tracks.

“What are those!?” I exclaimed, gawking at the mystical lights above me.

“Those are called stars,” the old man answered.

“Stars…” I repeated. They were so beautiful, so warm. I immediately loved them.

“Legend has it that they are the children of the moon…”

Again, I blacked out.

This time I “woke” up as I was being restrained by two of the larger grey men. I saw the old man in front of me, his face looked beaten and one of his arms was twisted in a funny way. I caught myself in mid-snarl as I bared my teeth at him. I stopped myself.

“I’m sorry!” I cried out. “I can’t control myself!”

The group glared at me in anger, but the old man looked up at me with a brilliant smile.

“My friends…family,” he stood up with difficulty “We have found her.”

I was now back in the city, but I was tied to two stakes with thick ropes, my arms stretched towards the heavens. I screamed and cried out, knowing that the sun would be rising soon. If I was caught in the sun, it’s harsh rays would burn my skin on direct contact. A painful death, or a horrendous existence if I managed to survive. I could see the members of this group standing in the shade of the nearby buildings. I called them everything in the books. I hated these people, this cult.

The sun rose and I stopped crying. There was no point in stopping the inevitable.

I stared up at the burning sun. My world went white hot. I closed my eyes.

“Where have you been?” A deep, soothing voice asked me.

I thought I was dead. Was there existence after death?

I slowly opened my eyes. I was in the sky, sitting on a cloud. It was bright all around me, yet I could see no sun. In front of me stood a fiery figure. It was a mass of fire in the shape  of a male human. I could see know discernible face, no eyes, just a glowing outline of red and orange.  Deep down, I recognized this figure, but I couldn’t place when or where.

“Oh Luna, don’t you remember?”

Upon hearing this name, my real name. I was flooded with a rush of memories and emotions. I had once been Luna, the goddess of the moon. I lived in harmony with the sun god, bringing light to the night. Once a month, (the new moon) I would disappear from the sky and take the form of a human and wander the Earth and all of its people.

One day, however, I was murdered by a street thief in my human body. Because I was murdered as a human, I was doomed to being trapped in an endless life cycle. I lived hundreds of lives as a human, with no memory of my life as a goddess. I lived and died in each one, each life was filled with sporadic rage when something reminded me of the life that had been robbed from me. The more lives I lived, the more violent I became. Hundreds of lives, each one another handful of years more away from a society that actually remembered that there had once been a moon in the sky.

“I searched for you for ages…” the fire figure said. “I even threatened the humans, and the did not return you to me.” The sun god told me he kept a close watch on the Earth for hundreds of years, punishing them by venturing closer than he used to, causing those to burn if they stood directly in his light.

“I did not know who I was,” I told him. “ I forgot when I was forced to be human.”

“Now that I have found you, I can destroy them of their evil ways!” he exclaimed.

“No,” I said, placing a hand on his shoulder, immune to his scalding temperature. Sure, I was enraged at the person who killed me, but I had lived hundreds of lives filled with good people; loved ones, like my little sister. There were humans worth keeping alive. “They are not all bad. Let’s leave them be.”

I then returned to my rightful place of the sky.

Dream Score: 6/10. I was full of such strong emotions during sleep and after waking. Anger, fear, love, and immense sadness. I had to dock points for a confusing theme — a weird, hard-to-follow story that starts off more sci-fi post-apocalyptic and ends with a fantasy/ mythological theme. My mind must have been all over the place when I had this dream.

Leave a Reply

